Practice Makes Less Terrible

Dance school is out for about a month, so what is a Novice/Prizewinner to do with herself? Suck a little less, naturally!20170704_095432

This month, without the added stress of getting to class and perfecting steps, I’m pulling back and focusing on technique as well as cross training. Yesterday I went down to my little personal studio (yea), strapped on the hard shoes, and spent about 30 min working solely on my trebles. I brushed out and in over and over, maintaining the proper treble start/end place of my foot flexed just about at ankle height of my non-working foot. I held on to the wall and trebled until all beats were consistently clear. Then I did the same, but without hanging on to the wall. Then I treble-stepped my way around the entire floor over and over and over again. Took a break by running Job of Journeywork, then realized there is no way I’ll be dancing that number at my feis in a couple weeks because I’d rather focus on perfecting my main four dances. Back to treble-stepping.

I started in my new hard shoes but they were just killing my feet and I couldn’t work well with technique, so I switched back to the old ones. I really need to stretch them more before I can dance at all. Being between sizes is the worst!

After exhausting my hard shoe attention span, I switched to my ghillies and ran leaps. I’m working on getting a better leap and moving towards the hanging leap. I thought I was doing better, so I took a video to confirm. The answer is no – I’m not doing better at hanging at all. The leap doesn’t look bad, but it’s still a “baby leap” and needs work if I want to get to Prelim. I did a drill where I tried to hold one leg out while jumping and tucking my leg underneath (basically this movement) four times, switching my working leg on the fourth jump but holding the first leg up and out as long as possible before making the switch. My jumping leg barely left the ground and I had a hard time switching, so I think continuing work on this drill and improving my strength in my jump will be a key component of getting a hanging leap.

My core goal is to do 20 min twice a week and actually be able to hold my plank or continue my drills for a full minute by August, which is what we do in our Drills class and I can never keep up with!

Outside of my little bubble, the North American Nationals are currently taking place. My teacher, who is my age and a huge inspiration to me, danced yesterday. She had been in a car accident recently and it really derailed her training, and she told me she felt very unprepared (to the point of almost pulling out of the competition). Instead, she placed 28th out of about 70 (maybe more) dancers! It’s her best placing in years (maybe even ever, I’m not sure). Of all the amazing things she does and is, the fact that she keeps improving every year since I started studying under her is hugely motivating. I’m hoping to make Open Champion before she retires from competing so I can dance with her at least once.

Leave a Reply

