The Bad Comes With the Good

Lately I’ve been feeling like I’ve taken such a huge step back in my dance progress due to my stamina issues. Last night I realized the I’m having stamina issues because I’ve progressed so far forward.

That might seem odd on the surface. Obviously, if I have been working hard at dance I would have developed a good fitness base and performing the moves would come easier for me, adding up to an easy slide through class.

What I discovered last night, though, was that all that adds up to an easier slide through a beginner-level class and beginner-level effort. But not only am I trying to perform more difficult moves, I’m working harder at perfecting them, which leads to running out of steam. It’s not that the moves have become easier, but rather that going through the motions has become easier and thus I am jumping harder, keeping my knees tighter, and focusing on getting up on and pointing my toes better and all of that takes way more effort than just trying to noodle-leg my way through a drill.

All the clicked last night because I finally, for the first time, performed a butterfly jump. The jump is similar to a cross key, except in the air. Cross keys have always been a favorite move of mine. They require turning in, and I’ve always been waaaay better at turn in than turn out! I couldn’t find a good gif, but here’s an attempt to show what the move looks like. It’s basically switching which foot is in front by doing a small jump, sliding down on your heels with toes touching, then sliding back up with feet switched.

So on to the butterfly, which requires doing that move with a jump (in the air). Flexed feet, turned in…the total opposite of Irish dance rules! But I finally nailed it. Below is a nice example of someone doing a butterfly.

https://vine.co/v/ezFHHwx5tKd/embed/simple

Beyond that, I made it through my hard shoe (a great feat considering last Tuesday!) both in drills and in teams class. We had six people in teams so did the Duke Reel. If you haven’t done a proper sanctioned céili before, there are a few standard pieces: the lead around, the body, figures, and an ending. Usually we only do the body once in class, but the standard is to do the body in between all figures. We decided to be brave and properly dance the body in between the figures, so it was: lead around, body, figure 1, body, figure 2, body, ending. That’s four straight minutes of dance, and somehow we (a) all survived and (b) managed to both practice and dance straight through Warriors, which is two straight minutes of intense hard shoe that, after the initial two hornpipe steps, is a two step reel that continuously picks up speed (so basically two dances smooshed together, as Novice level dances are two steps long). Take a listen if you haven’t heard the music before. I do love the music and the dance, even though it destroys me. My part comes in at 1:05 in the linked music video.

It’s supposed to snow tonight, but I’m hoping it will hold off being too much so that I can make my class. After last week’s burn out, I’m hoping to make a better showing tonight.

3 thoughts on “The Bad Comes With the Good

  1. Whoa, that jump look mesmerising! I would probably break something (or several things) if I were to try that. Irish dance looks super-intimidating to me, with its fast and precise moves. It’s no wonder you end up winded, especially if you are putting more effort into the moves. I’m sure you’ll get more stamina fast once you have the time for practice again!

    Like

    • I realize I never replied back in Dec, but thank you so much! Don’t let it intimidate you, it’s extremely fun and you should try it if you ever feel so inclined. 🙂 I know there is a pretty good Adult Irish dance community in mainland Europe.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I would love to! I would also like to get back into hip-hop and maybe try contemporary and also maybe learn swing someday and… wait, where did all my money go? 😀

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

