Dance is Hard

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again. I can’t keep up in dance class.

Right now I’m overwhelmed enough just getting to all my dance classes each week, so I haven’t gotten back to focusing on home practice or cross training yet. I’ll get there eventually, but in the meantime I can expect to continue having issues in class.

By the time we’re an hour in, I feel like I can’t pick my legs up anymore. They are so, so tired and, I expect, full of lactic acid. Hence my need to do some sprint-level endurance work to improve my ability to recover from said lactic acid build up.

I also lack strength in certain areas. I have trouble balancing on one foot when doing hard shoe without my heel touching the ground. No real problem in soft shoe, but trying to balance on that toe block is the end of me. I plan to look for some better hard shoes for me, but in the meantime I could use some strength increases there (feet/ankles) as well as my core. And in general with how tired my legs get, I suspect weights would help there as well. We’re doing some neat strength stuff in drills class these days, but I need to do more on my own too.

Then of course, there are technique problems. Not just maintaining turnout and cross, but also trying to do something simple like treble at the right speed (my lack of balance on my back foot in hard shoe has gotten me rushing through my trebles so I can keep from dropping my heel) and just trying to make contact with the floor on the left foot trebles. Turn out in hard shoe sucks too. My legs don’t move fast enough, particularly in hard shoe, to have good technique. In my haste to keep up with the music in hard shoe, I end up rushing the steps and losing butt kicks or proper lifting of my foot prior to a treble. So, so many things need to be practiced at home. We got a great piece of advice from one of our teachers last week: Champions need to break down and practice each piece of their choreography until they get it perfect. That sounds great to me, and I plan to structure my home practices this way should I ever get to the point when I can manage to practice at home.

Finally, flexibility and mobility. We’re supposed to be “kick our faces” on things like front clicks and I need to do things like improve my turnout and get my cuts up to hip level. This I’ve had some success in, but there’s a lot of room for improvement both in terms of ability and in terms of training time.

How am I supposed to do this when I work full time, am starting the hunt to buy a house, and have a wedding to plan? AHHHH!!!! Sometimes it feels like there is no way to catch up to the kids who are home schooled and can devote all their time to training.

Irish dance may need to go into a holding pattern until after I have a house and a husband. That includes forgoing a trip to Oireachtas next year, which will only be about a month after my wedding. Hard to swing the training needed for my first major with so much else going on.

Oh well:

giphy

3 thoughts on “Dance is Hard

  1. I don’t think you should stress yourself out too much: if you keep your form at roughly the same level, you can always progress at a later date, when you have the time and energy to focus on dancing (and maybe sleep occasionally).
    That gif is magnificent, by the way! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s definitely one of my favorite gifs! Trying to maintain the same dance level is a great idea. Hopefully some of the initial craziness will die down in the next couple months. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Coming back…slowly | Rinceoir Gaelach

Leave a Reply

