My Calves Are Sore…

…from cooking. Yes, cooking.

As I’ve mentioned before, one of the key issues missing from my training program is good nutrition. I’ve also discussed weight to power ratio, which basically means I need to get to an optimal amount of body fat so that the weight I need to force into the air contains the least amount of “dead” weight possible and the most amount of useful, or muscle, weight. Lighter dancer = easier to get a good hanging leap.

While I’ve worked on getting more consistent with my training, I’ve found myself too tired to cook in the evenings after dance and too tired to clean my apartment properly (which demotivates me). I’m also just super, super hungry since I’ve ramped up the activity levels. And on days where I’m not at dance, I still feel pretty worn out. It’s a bit of a cycle,

20161001_173310

Our farm bounty

as proper food = more energy. When I’m tired, I eat like crap, but I’m tired in part because I eat like crap.

Enter pounds of veggies, a wedding, and a massive meal prep weekend.

A couple Saturdays ago we went to the farm, which during fall harvest hosts a deal where for $20 (or less with enough people) you hop on a trailer pulled by a tractor, get hauled out into the fields, and pick away to your heart’s delight up to five bags of veggies. My boyfriend and I got everything in the photo for $32.50, and it’s super fresh! I didn’t have a ton of time to process them after picking because I also had a feis that weekend, but I set aside the past weekend to cook.

And cook I did. I made cottage pie, chicken stew, salsa, vegetable soup, pumpkin puree, and pumpkin seeds this weekend. I still have a ton of veggies left and probably should blanch and freeze a good amount of them, but I was tired and didn’t get that far by Sunday night! I froze a bunch of the food I made this weekend and am definitely set for this week and potentially part of next week. Even though it was a lot of work, I’m hoping to make weekend meal prep part of my routine this coming year.

Why a year? Well, that’s both about the amount of time it will take me to slowly (0.5-0.75 lbs/week) lose the extra weight I’d like to lose, and it’s when I’m getting married. 🙂 I got engaged on Wednesday and we kind of had a last hoorah with a nice meal and a bunch of wine, and now both of us are looking to shape up so we can be carefree on the day and happy in our pictures.

But mostly I’m looking forward to getting in shape for dance, because we all know dance is life. I think I said “I can’t, I have dance” about 10 times in the past week!

3 thoughts on “My Calves Are Sore…

  1. Congratulations on your engagement! Awesome!
    And those veggies look nice! I’m way lazy myself, so I usually live off lettuce with some tofu or something. I wish I could make myself cook sometime.

    Like

    • Thank you so much!

      I’m usually way too lazy to prepare veggies too, even though I really enjoy them. A trip to the farm forces me to use them though, or they’ll go bad!

      When I’m not too lazy to cook, my favorite is to chop up some tomatoes, bell peppers, onion, and garlic, then cook them up with some basil and oregano and some ground turkey or beef (or you could use TVP or tofu I’m sure), then eat over pasta or zucchini noodles. It’s pretty quick, maybe 15 or 20 minutes, but there are definitely days I’m too lazy to do even that! Especially if I’ve had dance class. I’m trying to convince my self weekend meal prep is the way to go. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’ve heard of people successfully preparing meals ahead of time, so it’s theoretically possible. 😀 Maybe if you can entertain yourself while cooking with an audiobook, TV or some music, you’d really get into the habit? That recipe sounds delicious, I should definitely try it some day!

        Like

Leave a Reply

