…And Then I Get Sick

After coming out of my feis ready and motivated to mount my campaign to drop down and dominate &overs, I ended up being sick the last couple days. I’m feeling much better today, but I missed two days of dance! I know some people feel like they must attend class/workout no matter what, but this was honestly not the type of illness one should be persevering through. Also, my personal moral code states that if you’re sick, stay at damn home until you’re well and quit infecting everyone else! So, home I stayed with limited walking as that made everything worse.

I’m feeling much better today, though, and made it into the office (I’m thankful for “work from home” options!). On the schedule for today is weight lifting. And of course, focusing back on proper food intake.

Before I got sick, though, I took a rest day on Saturday and got back to running on Sunday. I’m going with my off season endurance/recovery training for about 7 weeks, then I’m going to switch to a preseason regime of sprints. That will lead into the end of the year feis season and my first feiseanna dropped down. It was my first run in a while, and I headed out fairly early to beat the heat. I tend to work out more in the afternoons/evenings, so it’s a bit tough for me to get out the door and train hard before noon. When the high is in the 90s, though? I’m motivated to go early when it’s still in the 70s and the sun doesn’t want to turn me into a tomato.

So it was 10 sets of 2 minutes running, 2 minutes walking out on the trail. I started struggling a bit towards the 7th set, but I made it through and am hopeful next week will be even better. And with all the rain we’ve been having, the trail was beautiful. The Meadowlarks were out in force, and I even saw a Bullock’s oriole!

20160612_094648

Beautiful day on the trail

In the interest of transparency, here are my stats from the run. Yes, I’m slow. Like, hella slow. Which is why I’m training. Because I’m überslow.

Screen Shot 2016-06-15 at 8.14.20 AM

Leave a Reply

