Nutrition: A Missing Piece

A major part of my training that’s missing/needs improvement/is holding me back is the nutrition aspect. I gained almost 20 lbs since meeting my boyfriend a couple years ago, which I think was a combination of being fat and happy with him, stress eating, and not catching myself when I passed my red line weight. I’ve managed to quit gaining for the past few months, but I haven’t managed to lose.

The weight is really affecting my dancing. I can feel myself getting more tired than I used to (perhaps a combination of weight and harder steps). I get winded pretty easily. I have trouble crossing my legs properly due to leg fat in the way. On top of that, just in general when I’m eating poorly my performance is affected.

Worst, though, is that if I can’t motivate myself to eat well I can’t motivate myself to train. “I’m hungry, I’m going to eat all this food” inevitably turns into “I’m tired/full, I don’t feel like dancing/running/lifting.”

Yesterday I did manage to stay mostly on track, though. My goal is TDEE (Total Daily Energy Expenditure) minus 300 calories. A small deficit, but enough to produce slow but steady results and keep me fueled for my workouts. Usually this is 1600, but when I get in all my steps (10k or more), I usually get a hundred or so more calories to work with if I choose. I finished off yesterday at 1715, a good effort. I got close to my protein goal (99g) but was quite over on my fats.

I’m starting off the day right with some oatmeal and fruit this morning, 20160207_090044with just a little bit of maple syrup because it’s the nectar of the gods. It’s Superbowl partying this afternoon, so I’m going to try to stick with a healthy lunch and see what I can manage during the game. Counting apps on cell phones make life so much easier!

Hopefully I’ll be able to post that I lost a little bit of weight, but I’m not there yet. Fortunately, as I mentioned, the gaining has stopped.

Leave a Reply

